Sign in to follow this  
Gben

Research into C&C Modding History

Gben    20

Hey y'all...

I didn't know mod's exisited until after Yuri's Revenge was released. I'm interested in the background of the first group of mods for the C&C universe...

• Did any come out for the original C&C at the time?
  • Does anyone know what the actual first public mod release was?
  • Was it just a balance mod or were any custom units/buildings possible, any Total Conversions attempted?
  • Were any community members particularly helpful/active in the early stages/first year?
  • Were any Westwood staff particular helpful/active in the early stages/first year?
  • In terms of the technical process involved, was there a particular technology/engine mechanic that everyone was limited by?

I'll probably have more questions, based on your answers... if any.

Keep in mind that I have never done a mod, I'm not a programmer, just an interested noob end-user.... so use little words!

:)

Nmenth    231
Keep in mind that I have never done a mod, I'm not a programmer, just an interested noob end-user....

:o Never did a mod, but you're going to be a mod reporter? :no:

Gben    20

I don't know how to make a car either, but I sure enjoy it!

or a fridge

or a watch

or a flatscreen lcd screen

or...

I don't think modding got big until the XCC tools were released eons ago. There are a lot of differences between Tiberian Dawn modding and Red Alert modding. Mainly that TD has no INI files of any kind that modify unit settings. Maps, though, are still INI files but that's the extent of text based editing.

Red Alert introduced a few INI files, like rules and art, but not AI.

It's expanded since but I don't think there were a great deal of mods released early on for either game. I'm pretty sure it picked up with Tiberian Sun and XCC.

[EDIT] Nyerguds would be the person to ask about TD/RA. You can ask me about TS/RA2 but I'm more of an RA2 man.

Gben    20