Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Westwood Monopoly Update: 9/23/11


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Aroenai

Aroenai

    Unranked

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted Wednesday, 1 December 2010 - 11:45 AM

Update 9/23/2011:

Good news, I finally found a way to copy files directly from the original CD-ROM, I should have checked the Inno Setup newsgroup earlier... oh well, it figures I would find it just after I found a way to compress the whole game down to 98.7 MB. Anyway, here's a list of features:

-Windows 64-bit support (32-bit installer)
-Original Installer and Uninstaller icons and splash screen
-Option to choose between 8-bit and 16-bit sounds (like the original installer)
-Game now runs on Windows NT 4.0 and 2000 (game would crash)
-Dialog boxes updated to accommodate the Aero theme on Vista/7
(the original didn't have any consistent size or placement and Aero only made things worse with the border size changes it made so dialog boxes were cut off, huge, or misplaced.)
-Same for XP's theme
-Re-sized icons to avoid the ugly 32x32 to 48x48 scaling that Windows XP and above does
-Can be installed in Program Files without causing problems (though that's not the default installation path)
-No-CD patched (Netbook users rejoice! CD-ROM required once for installation though, just grab a usb or virtual drive)
-Optional Compiled HTML Help (Monopoly.chm) for users without the KB917607 update (Vista/7/2008/etc.)
-Smaller WinG32.dll file compiled from Wine's source code (Doesn't need to be in System32)

Note, this only supports the US English version for now... the only other version I have access to is the French version but haven't gotten around to fixing up the dialog boxes yet. I essentially have to start from scratch since a lot of the text is different lengths than the English version. Anyone feeling ambitious? wacko.gif

Attached File  Monopoly_32_bit_Installer.zip   855.42K   1488 downloads

Edit 9/26/2011:
Fixed a bug with the installer, nothing to see here...

Original Post:
Is anyone else interested in patching Westwood's Monopoly game? I'm working on a new installer to replace the original 16-bit installer that doesn't work on x64. So far I've been able to remove the CD check and get the game to run without crashing on Windows 2000 and above.

Windows XP, Vista, and 7 use a lazy fix and ignore exceptions produced by trying to run a privileged instruction (in this case, trying to access the video card to detect vertical refresh) so I've essentially done the same thing by NOP'ing out the instruction. The problem is, it seems like the game uses a high number of CPU cycles (task manager shows 55%) this way, so I'd like to find a better way if possible. Also, it'd be nice to fix the bug where the computer players would keep playing if the last human player goes bankrupt since this prevents you from exiting the game.

Edited by Aroenai, Tuesday, 27 September 2011 - 10:01 AM.

  • 0

#2 RainXc

RainXc

    Sergeant

  • Retired Staff
  • 243 posts

  • Favourite C&C:
    Renegade

Posted Wednesday, 1 December 2010 - 02:54 PM

Yeah, it would be pretty cool to see it working.
  • 0

#3 CCHyper

CCHyper

    Agent x86

  • Command & Patch
  • 553 posts

Posted Wednesday, 1 December 2010 - 11:43 PM

That vert refresh bug is in C&C95 and RA95, another Westwood master piece of code! tongue.gif

Never dissasembled the Monopoly executable, wonder if that used the WWLib.
  • 0

#4 gben

gben

    noob of noobs

  • Moderators
  • 4,471 posts
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

  • Favourite C&C:
    Command & Conquer

Posted Thursday, 2 December 2010 - 02:46 AM

I never got to play their version... but I would have liked too.
  • 0

- say what you mean  -  mean what you say  -  don't say it mean  -

- everything said must be true - not everything true must be said -


#5 Aroenai

Aroenai

    Unranked

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted Thursday, 2 December 2010 - 10:16 PM

QUOTE (CCHyper @ Wednesday 1st December 2010 4:43 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
That vert refresh bug is in C&C95 and RA95, another Westwood master piece of code! tongue.gif

Never dissasembled the Monopoly executable, wonder if that used the WWLib.


It doesn't use DirectDraw like C&C95 or RA95, it's one of the few games I know of that uses Microsoft's WinG library (the Windows 3.1 back-port of DirectDraw?). I'm just using wing32.dll compiled from the Wine Project's source since it's smaller and I think the original tries to link to wing.dll which is 16-bit. From what I've gathered it's impossible to detect vertical refresh on Windows NT when you're using the GDI to draw it.

The code is really simple, I've been working with the version 1.3 patched exe since it's easier to follow than the one on the CD but I've reached the limit of my disassembly knowledge.
  • 0

#6 Nyerguds

Nyerguds

    General

  • Command & Patch
  • 2,641 posts
  • Location:Flanders (Belgium)

  • Favourite C&C:
    Command & Conquer

Posted Saturday, 25 December 2010 - 12:02 PM

You know where I can download an iso of this? I've always wanted it...
  • 0
106cbanner.gif

#7 Aroenai

Aroenai

    Unranked

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted Thursday, 6 January 2011 - 06:23 AM

Check your PM's wink.gif Err btw, what's the official forum stance on sharing this game?

Also, there are four versions of this game: US English, UK English, German, and French. Each version has different videos and default rules. I only have the US version, so if anyone has any of the others please contact me. Thanks!

Edited by Aroenai, Thursday, 6 January 2011 - 06:31 AM.

  • 0

#8 Nyerguds

Nyerguds

    General

  • Command & Patch
  • 2,641 posts
  • Location:Flanders (Belgium)

  • Favourite C&C:
    Command & Conquer

Posted Thursday, 6 January 2011 - 12:08 PM

You're awesome smile.gif

Other default rules, you say? Like what?

would be neat if you could make a unified version with language selector like I did in C&C95, lol. Though if these "default rules" aren't some external file that might be hard tongue.gif
  • 0
106cbanner.gif

#9 Aroenai

Aroenai

    Unranked

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted Thursday, 6 January 2011 - 12:35 PM

You're welcome biggrin.gif

Oh, I'm not actually sure what the defaults are, I'm just going off what some of the help files and other documentation has said. They're all rules available under the international options menu, the rules for Monopoly vary by country so depending on the version there are different defaults set. Each version has the option for enabling all the different rules (required for online play against people in those countries) I just don't know which options were set in each version. I'm sure it's just something in either a .TRE file or in the DLG_xxx.dll (ENG, UK, FRE, or GER) file since they all use the same executable.

It'd be possible to make translations just with the US version I have, someone would have to help me figure out the format of the .TRE files though since that's where all the text is stored. The only problem is the videos would always show the US game board. I'd like to make a universal language installer but I don't have access to the other versions, I've seen each on ebay but haven't had the money to buy them sad.gif

Edited by Aroenai, Thursday, 6 January 2011 - 12:35 PM.

  • 0

#10 Nyerguds

Nyerguds

    General

  • Command & Patch
  • 2,641 posts
  • Location:Flanders (Belgium)

  • Favourite C&C:
    Command & Conquer

Posted Friday, 7 January 2011 - 01:45 PM

I've done language separation for videos in C&C1... but that was mainly because C&C already contains an inbuilt NoCD system that accepts an alternative path. So I just made te game automatically use a subfolder with the name of the language (ENG/GER/FRE) as CD, and put the correct videos in there.

You could always try out if the -cd command line parameter is present inside Monopoly.
  • 0
106cbanner.gif

#11 Aroenai

Aroenai

    Unranked

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted Friday, 7 January 2011 - 08:21 PM

QUOTE (Nyerguds @ Friday 7th January 2011 6:45 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I've done language separation for videos in C&C1... but that was mainly because C&C already contains an inbuilt NoCD system that accepts an alternative path. So I just made te game automatically use a subfolder with the name of the language (ENG/GER/FRE) as CD, and put the correct videos in there.

You could always try out if the -cd command line parameter is present inside Monopoly.



Wait, does the DOS version of C&C have that parameter too? This game came out before Gold and ran on Windows 3.1 with the Win32s addon.

Looking at the disassembly I don't think it has any command line parameters, the CD detection relies on detecting the first drive letter with type 5 (CD-ROM) and the only code for setting the CD path is right after it. I was looking at a NoCD hack for the game by another person where they copied the hard drive path string variable to the CD path string variable and it broke the game (all players start with $0 and can't gain any money), you're welcome to take a look at it but the only way I was able to get it working was to replace every instance of the CD path with the one for the hard drive.
  • 0

#12 Nyerguds

Nyerguds

    General

  • Command & Patch
  • 2,641 posts
  • Location:Flanders (Belgium)

  • Favourite C&C:
    Command & Conquer

Posted Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 11:37 AM

Yeah, the DOS version of C&C has that too. It's always been in there. It's in RA too, though they messed it up in the 3.03 version. (game starts, but asks for CD when starting missions ingame)

I know about the DriveType thing; I recently NoCD'd Sole Survivor with that, but that's usually not enough. The CD drive detection is usually a subroutine in the complete file reading system, and unless you make sure all of it is correctly read from the game folder you could end up with it just taking the first hard disk as valid CD and trying to read off C:\ root. If the basic rules files you talked about are on the CD, this could cause that 0$ thing.

Still, just substituting the CD drive (typically a "%c:\" in which "%c" is replaced by the CD drive character) by nothing at all usually does the trick, since the default folder to read ANYTHING from is automatically the program's own folder. That's an operating system rule, not a game engine thing.


Most Westwood games I've seen automatically read the game folder for CD data, and even do that before checking the CD, but if this is from before the CD reading mechanism they incorporated in C&C, it could be.

I don't have time to look into that right now though; got exams.
  • 0
106cbanner.gif

#13 Jimmsss

Jimmsss

    Unranked

  • Members
  • 1 posts

  • Favourite C&C:
    Generals

Posted Sunday, 23 January 2011 - 06:30 PM

QUOTE (Aroenai @ Wednesday 1st December 2010 11:45 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Is anyone else interested in patching Westwood's Monopoly game? I'm working on a new installer to replace the original 16-bit installer that doesn't work on x64. So far I've been able to remove the CD check and get the game to run without crashing on Windows 2000 and above.

Windows XP, Vista, and 7 use a lazy fix and ignore exceptions produced by trying to run a privileged instruction (in this case, trying to access the video card to detect vertical refresh) so I've essentially done the same thing by NOP'ing out the instruction. The problem is, it seems like the game uses a high number of CPU cycles (task manager shows 55%) this way, so I'd like to find a better way if possible. Also, it'd be nice to fix the bug where the computer players would keep playing if the last human player goes bankrupt since this prevents you from exiting the game.



You say you've managed to remove the CD check on this game? I'm intrigued, I used to have it and loved it as a good distraction for coursework etc. I managed to find the game, but I can't find a way to remove the CD check anywhere, whether it be by crack or by fixed .exe. Can you help me?
  • 0

#14 Doctor Destiny

Doctor Destiny

    Equestrian Citizen

  • Administrators
  • 12,558 posts
  • Location:Equestria

  • Favourite C&C:
    Red Alert

Posted Sunday, 23 January 2011 - 07:23 PM

QUOTE (Jimmsss @ Sunday 23rd January 2011 12:30 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You say you've managed to remove the CD check on this game? I'm intrigued, I used to have it and loved it as a good distraction for coursework etc. I managed to find the game, but I can't find a way to remove the CD check anywhere, whether it be by crack or by fixed .exe. Can you help me?

Not on the forums he can't. We do not allow that kind of discussion.
  • 0
NZ.org | NZ Gaming | RP
Skype: doctordestiny891
MSN: genkosygin@hotmail.com
Steam
kosygin891.png

#15 Nyerguds

Nyerguds

    General

  • Command & Patch
  • 2,641 posts
  • Location:Flanders (Belgium)

  • Favourite C&C:
    Command & Conquer

Posted Sunday, 23 January 2011 - 10:51 PM

...this game is older than C&C1, and there have been tons of newer Monopoly games since that one.

Really, Fenring, there's no need to be so uptight about a game that's so clearly forgotten by everyone besides some Westwood fans. This is pretty much equivalent to warning someone for editing the game exe of Dune II. sleep.gif


QUOTE (Jimmsss @ Sunday 23rd January 2011 7:30 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
whether it be by crack or by fixed .exe.

Umm... that's the same thing. Cracking IS changing the exe.
  • 0
106cbanner.gif

#16 Doctor Destiny

Doctor Destiny

    Equestrian Citizen

  • Administrators
  • 12,558 posts
  • Location:Equestria

  • Favourite C&C:
    Red Alert

Posted Monday, 24 January 2011 - 01:09 AM

Doesn't change the rules. Abandonware or not, we don't allow the discussion.
  • 0
NZ.org | NZ Gaming | RP
Skype: doctordestiny891
MSN: genkosygin@hotmail.com
Steam
kosygin891.png

#17 Nyerguds

Nyerguds

    General

  • Command & Patch
  • 2,641 posts
  • Location:Flanders (Belgium)

  • Favourite C&C:
    Command & Conquer

Posted Monday, 24 January 2011 - 11:31 AM

Then it's funny how you attack him for that post, while completely ignoring the fact Aroenai and I have been openly discussing the technical details of removing CD protections in general tongue.gif
  • 0
106cbanner.gif

#18 Sonic

Sonic

    Webmaster/Founder

  • Root Admin
  • 13,659 posts
  • Location:New Zealand

  • Favourite C&C:
    Renegade X

Posted Monday, 24 January 2011 - 12:04 PM

Rules are rules Nyerguds, Doctor Destiny is simply reminding you and everyone else of them. Admins/Mods will step in when they see fit, up to this point your discussion has been within our boundaries. Someone asked for a crack for a game so Doctor Destiny stepped in. Plus its not cool to question the decisions made by our staff.
  • 0

FP7bC.png

Sonic - Webmaster                                                Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube


#19 Nyerguds

Nyerguds

    General

  • Command & Patch
  • 2,641 posts
  • Location:Flanders (Belgium)

  • Favourite C&C:
    Command & Conquer

Posted Monday, 24 January 2011 - 12:59 PM

Okay, sure.
  • 0
106cbanner.gif

#20 Aroenai

Aroenai

    Unranked

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted Friday, 28 January 2011 - 12:56 AM

Doctor Destiny and/or Sonic:

Would it be alright if I posted the Inno Setup script I've been working on, or something along the lines of an installer that reads and copies all the files off the original cd (like what http://sierrahelp.com/ does)? For the second option I would need some help detecting which cd drive to copy files from since I'm not that familiar with Inno Setup or Pascal scripting.

This game has a 16-bit installer (so it won't work on most new computers since they're running 64-bit) and the game's exe would have to be modified to work on Windows NT based OS's (it crashes on start because of a privileged instruction, plus many windows had to be repositioned because of the gui themes in XP/Vista/7). Information about this game is scarce and I'm sure it would help those who own the game, not to mention users on netbook computers.

Edited by Aroenai, Friday, 28 January 2011 - 02:05 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


eXTReMe Tracker